Member News

NEJC Chamber Graduates 30th Class of Premiere Regional Leadership Program
Mission, KS
05/20/2019 11:00 AM

NEJC Chamber is proud to announce the graduation of the 30th class of Leadership NEJC. The ceremony took place during a graduation luncheon featuring keynote speaker, Melissa Rooker on Thursday, May 16 at the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center. Graduates, a diverse group of leaders and emerging leaders from the Greater KC Metro, completed a five month immersive professional development program They became the first class of a Johnson County chamber leadership program to graduate with a Business Leadership Certificate and CEUs (continuing education units) because of a partnership between NEJC Chamber and Johnson County Chamber and JCCC.

Congratulations to the 2019 Class of Leadership NEJC:


  • Sarah Askren, John Degen & Associates, LLC (Social Co-Chair)
  • Alli Bertz, NEJC Chamber
  • Todd Blauwiekel, INTRUST Bank
  •  AlFonzo Bowens, CommunityAmerica Credit Union (Social Co-Chair)
  • Kate Buenger, Johnson County Park and Recreation District (Vice President)
  • Megan Campbell, CAPA
  • Brian Compton, Avidity Insurance (President)
  • Ashley Freburg, City of Prairie Village


  • Erica Froelich, JE Dunn Construction
  • Rebecca Galati, KCP&L
  • Tim Hadachek, Lathrop Gage
  • Sue Haggerty, Employer Advantage
  • Kayla Harrity, Johnson County Community College
  • Meredith Hauck, City of Merriam
  • Shaneè Kimber, Morrill & Janes Bank and Trust 
  • Chris Linnane, Linnane Consulting, LLC
  • Justin Morris, Armor Alarm, Inc.
  • Ellen Parker, WaterOne
  • Braden Perry, City of Mission Hills
  • Dr. Marion Pierson, Village Pediatrics
  • Dr. Joseph Reuben, AdventHealth Shawnee Mission
  • Tanya Rodecker Wendt, Deacy & Deacy, LLP
  • Donnie Scharff, City of Roleand Park
  • Mary Schulteis, City of Roeland Park (Service Co-Chair)
  • Nikki Shippee, Capitol Federal Savings Bank
  • Shawn Smith, Johnson County Community College
  • Margaret Steele, Kansas Gas Service
  • Bonnie Swade, SASS-MoKan (Service Co-Chair)
  • Cpl. Jeremiah Waters, City of Merriam Police Department
  •  Nickolas Wilson, Edward Jones


Leadership NEJC is a premiere regional leadership program focused on identifying and strengthening key leadership competencies through professionally facilitated learning experiences, hands-on educational activities, and community service. Held annually from January to May the program has graduated over 550 participants who have gone on to become key business and community leaders. For more information on Leadership NEJC, please visit

Powered By CC-Assist.NET